Saturday, June 17, 2006

The five spiritual senses


The five spiritual senses

The five spiritual senses are all connected.
They've grown from one root.
As one grows strong, the others strengthen, too:
each one becomes a cupbearer to the rest.
Seeing with the eye increases speech;
speech increases discernment in the eye.
As sight deepens, it awakens every sense,
so that the perception of the spiritual
becomes familiar to them all.

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

Panj hess bâ hamdegar payvasteh-'and
zânke in har panj ze asli rasteh-'and
Qut-e yek qut-e bâqi shavad
mâ baqi-râ har yeki sâqi shavad
Didan dideh fazâyad notq-râ
notq dar dideh fazâyad sedq-râ
Sedq bidâri-ye har hess mi-shavad
hess-hâ-râ zawq munes mi-shavad

-- Mathnawi II: 3236-3239
Version by Camille and Kabir Helminski
"Rumi: Daylight"
Threshold Books, 1994
Persian transliteration courtesy of Yahyá Monastra

The image:

The Persian recitation:

A Persian interpretation:

No comments: